Budget

NOTE: The following text is a translation from German. The English translations of statutes, regulations and budget-specific terms are, unlike the German ones, NOT LEGAL. Even for our financially relevant documents (e.g. fee and work contracts), the English version only serves as an auxiliary offer.


Legal basis and objectives

As a partial body of the university, the student body of the UdK enjoys a legal subjectivity guaranteed by the Berlin Higher Education Act (BerlHG) and thus an autonomy (cf. § 18 para. 1 BerlHG), which also includes a financial sovereignty and the management of its own budgets (cf. § 20 BerlHG). These are prepared and monitored by the Department of Finance. Its main task is the preparation, coordination and control of compliance with the budget of the student body (chapter 25), the budget of the student body for the semester ticket (chapter 26) and the budget estimates specified therein in extended-cameralistic form.

The budgets are adopted by the Student Parliament after the selection and distribution of the titles and after the allocation of funds, after the Finance Officer has prepared the figures and their explanatory part in a long process of coordination with the AStA, the StuPa and its Budget Committee, various subject groups and the budget department of the Central University Administration as a consultative force, so that in the end a document is generated that is capable of consensus and satisfactory to all, that expresses recognizable trends in the student body prospectively in numerical form, consolidates trends in expenditure and implements resolutions of the student parliament financially. In the end, the budgets are approved by the presidium of the university in accordance with § 20 para. 1 BerlHG for the period from April 01 in each case and until March 31 of the following year.

The fact that the budget years of the student body deviate from the calendar year is not so much due to considerations of Feng Shui or other Far Eastern rites, but rather due to the timing of the collection of student body contributions in accordance with § 20 Abs.1 BerlHG. According to the StuPa resolution of 08.07.2020 the current amount of student body contribution is 10.60 EUR p.p./semester of a total of 313.09 EUR and is sufficient to form a budget that must be able to financially form the core areas of the student body. These fees are collected together with the re-registration fees for the respective semester.

According to the budgets, the student body's budgets, for example, comprised a budget volume of EUR 91,000 in fiscal year 2017/18, EUR 95,800 in fiscal year 2018/19 and EUR 96,200 in fiscal year 2019/20. The budget volumes for the semester ticket amounted to EUR 1,443,100 in fiscal year 2017/18, EUR 1,593,600 in fiscal year 2018/19 and EUR 1,554,300 in fiscal year 2019/20.

On average, 285 bookings were incurred per year for the student body budget and 220 bookings were incurred for the semester ticket budget (excluding debit entries).

Student body budget (Chapter 25) - budget year 2021/22

Student body budget for the semester ticket (Chapter 26) - budget year 2021/22

In addition to the student body's household, there is a second household - the one for the semester ticket. This household will directly receive your semester ticket fees, which will then be transferred to the VBB, as well as an administration fee of 2.60 euros from the summer semester 2018, which will be used to pay for the semester ticket office (staff*, office supplies, postage, etc.).

Discharge

Likewise, the student parliament grants discharge to the respective finance officer and thus expresses its confidence in the AStA as a whole, whereby former officers are released from personal liability. The discharge resolution of the student parliament must always be approved by the Senate Chancellery for Science and Research. For this purpose, the Department of Finance invites tenders on behalf of the student body for an audit after the end of a financial year in accordance with § 20 para. 3 BerlHG, in order to examine whether the business activities of the AStA as a university-political sub-corporation complied with all applicable laws, regulations and agreements. If the activities or the statement of accounts are in accordance with this, discharge can be granted. If the activity deviates negatively from this, the StuPa can decide not to discharge.

If a former financial officer is not discharged after the StuPa has passed a resolution, this expresses the disapproval of the StuPa as a control body, which reserves the right to assert any existing claims for damages by having legal support examine whether criminal action should be taken against the former financial officers appointed by it. This can happen if his/her activities resulted in damage to the budget(s) being monitored. Consequently, exoneration acts as a waiver of claims for damages and an acknowledgement of the non-existence of such.

Haushalt

Rechtsgrundlagen und Zielsetzungen

Die Studierendenschaft der UdK genießt als Teilkörperschaft der Hochschule eine durch das Berliner Hochschulgesetz (BerlHG) verbriefte Rechtssubjektivität und damit eine Autonomie (vgl. § 18 Abs. 1 BerlHG), zu der auch eine Finanzhoheit und die Führung eigener Haushälter gehören (vgl. § 20  BerlHG). Diese werden durch das Referat der Finanzen erstellt und überwacht. Seine Hauptaufgabe ist die Erstellung, Abstimmung und Kontrolle der Einhaltung des Haushalts der Studierendenschaft (Kapitel 25), des Haushalt der Studierendenschaft für das Semesterticket (Kapitel 26) und der dort festgelegten Haushaltsansätze in erweitert-kameralistischer Form.

Die Haushaltspläne werden vom Studierendenparlament nach Auswahl und Aufteilung der Titel und nach der Mittelverteilung in zwei Lesungen beschlossen, nachdem der Finanzreferent das Zahlenwerk und sein Erläuterungsteil zuvor einem langen Prozess der Abstimmung mit dem AStA, dem StuPa und seinem Haushaltsausschuss, diversen Fachgruppen und dem Haushaltsreferat der Zentralen Universitätsverwaltung als konsultativer Kraft unterzogen hat, sodass am Ende ein konsensfähiges und für alle zufriedenstellendes Dokument generiert wird, dass erkennbare Tendenzen in der Studierendenschaft prospektiv in Zahlenform ausdrückt, Tendenzen in Ausgaben verstetigt und Beschlüsse des Studierendenparlamentes finanziell umsetzt. Am Ende werden die Haushaltspläne vom Präsidium der Hochschule gem. § 20 Abs. 1 BerlHG genehmigt für den Zeitraum vom jeweils 01. April und bis zum 31. März des Folgejahres genehmigt.

Dass die Haushaltsjahre der Studierendenschaft vom kalendarischen Jahr abweichend im Frühjahr beginnen und der 31.03 jedes Jahr fast so wichtig ist wie der 31.12, liegt weniger an Neumondzyklen oder archaischen Riten, sondern am Zeitpunkt der Erhebung der Studierendenschaftsbeiträge gem. § 20 Abs.1 BerlHG. Sie belaufen sich gem. StuPa-Beschluss vom 08.07.2020 TOP 1 derzeit auf 10,60 EUR p.P./Semester von insg. 313,09 EUR und reichen aus, um einen Haushalt zu bilden, der die Kernbereiche der Studierendenschaft finanziell stemmen können muss. Diese Beiträge werden zusammen mit den Rückmeldegebühren zum jeweiligen Semester erhoben.

Die Haushalte der Studierendenschaft etwa umfassten gemäß den Haushaltsplänen ein Haushaltsvolumen von 91.000 EUR im Haushaltsjahr 2017/18, 95.800 EUR im Haushaltsjahr 2018/19 und 96.200 EUR im Haushaltsjahr 2019/20. Die Haushaltsvolumina für das Semesterticket beliefen sich auf 1.443.100 EUR im Haushaltsjahr 2017/18, 1.593.600 EUR im Haushaltsjahr 2018/19 und 1.554.300 EUR im Haushaltsjahr 2019/20.

Durchschnittlich sind pro Jahr für den Haushalt der Studierendenschaft 285 Buchungen angefallen, beim Haushalt der Studierendenschaft für das Semesterticket 220 Buchungen (ohne Sollbuchungen).

 

Haushalt der Studierendenschaft (Kapitel 25) — Haushaltsjahr 2021/22

Haushalt der Studierendenschaft zum Semesterticket (Kapitel 26) — Haushaltsjahr 2021/22

Neben dem Haushalt der Studierendenschaft gibt es noch einen zweiten Haushalt - den für das Semesterticket. In diesen fließen eure Beiträge für das Semesterticket direkt, die dann an den VBB weiterüberwiesen werden, sowie eine Verwaltungsgebühr von 2,60 Euro ab dem Sommersemester 2018, mit der die Kosten für das Semesterticketbüro (Mitarbeiter*innen, Büromaterial, Porto etc.) bezahlt werden. 

Entlastung

Ebenso sprich das Studierendenparlament dem jeweiligen Referenten der Finanzen die Entlastung und dem AStA insgesamt damit sein Vertrauen aus, wodurch ehemalige Referent*innen von persönlicher Haftung entbunden werden. Der Entlastungsbeschluss des Studierendenparlamentes muss schließlich immer in der Senatskanzlei für Wissenschaft und Forschung genehmigt werden. Hierfür schreibt das Referat der Finanzen im Namen der Studierendenschaft eine Wirtschaftsprüfung nach Abschluss eines Haushaltsjahres gem. § 20 Abs. 3 BerlHG aus, um examinieren zu lassen, ob die Geschäftstätigkeit des AStA als hochschulpolitischer Teilkörperschaft in ihrer Abwicklung allen geltenden Gesetzen, Ordnungen und Vereinbarungen entsprach. Stimmen Tätigkeit oder Rechenschaftsbericht hiermit überein, kann eine Entlastung erteilt werden. Weicht die Tätigkeit hiervon negativ ab, kann das StuPa beschließen nicht zu entlasten.

Wird ein*e ehemalige*r Finanzreferent*in nach Beschlussfassung des StuPa nicht entlastet, wird damit eine Missbilligung des StuPa als Kontrollgremiums zum Ausdruck gebracht, das sich vorbehält eventuell bestehende Schadensersatzansprüche geltend machen zu können, indem es mit juristischer Unterstützung prüfen lässt, ob strafrechtliche Schritte gegen die von ihm eingesetzten ehemaligen Finanzreferent*innen ergriffen werden sollen. Das kann passieren, wenn durch seine/ihre Tätigkeit einen Schaden für den/die zu überwachenden Haushalt/e zur Folge hatte. Folglich wirkt eine Entlastung wie ein Verzicht auf Schadensersatzansprüche und die Anerkenntnis des Nichtbestehens solcher.