Application for Exemption

Contact
Semesterticketbüro
c/o AStA TU Berlin
H 2130a-2133
Straße des 17. Juni 135
D-10623 Berlin-Charlottenburg

Website: asta.tu-berlin.de/semtix
E-Mail: semesterticket@tu-berlin.de
Tel: +49 030 314 28038
Fax: +49 030 314 28162

Downloads

In principle all the students of the UdK Berlin are obligated to pay for the semester ticket. Yet, in certain cases, you are automatically exempted from the obligation. In this case, the Immatriculation and Examination Office (German: Immatrikulations- und Prüfungsamt, IPA) will settle the issue. No further attention is needed.

Yet, there are also other reasons that you may need to fill in the form for requesting for exemption. (German: Befreiungsantrag) and bring along the relevant documents/proofs to the Semester ticket office. In these cases are regulated in accordance to the semester ticket’s constitution.

Under the following circumstances, the IPA is responsible for the exemptions:

Students who are not the members of the UdK Berlin or students body (side students, guest students)

Students who are immitraculated in another university in Berlin or Brandeburg and pay their fees in another university (double matriculation)

EXCEPTION:

Severely disabled persons who own a disability certificate which proves his/her entitlements to a free transportation → The IPA will not settle the issue for you automatically. A color copy of your disability certificate (German: Behindertenausweis) is needed to be handed in to the IPA. This procesure has to be done for one time only.

Under the following circumstances, the semester ticket office will exempt the obligation for one or more semesters upon request:

1) Students who are sick/disabled, hence not being able to use public transportation in the semester (Doctor certificate needed)

2) Students who are living outside of the area of Berlin Zone ABC because of study-related reasons (For example, exchange semester in a foreign country)

3) Students in supplementary, additional, postgraduate courses, in part-time study, further education, postgraduate courses, doctoral students or further study opportunities.

4) Students who are taking a semester off. Attention: If you submit the application after the beginning of the semester, you will no longer be reimbursed for partial months of validity.

Exmatriculation

In the case of exmatriculation during the current semester, one-sixth of the semester ticket contribution will be reimbursed for each full month that the ticket is no longer used. This refund is regulated by the IPA. The time of the return of the student ID is decisive.

Enrollment after the beginning of the semester

Anyone who is enrolled more than one full month after the start of the semester, will be reimbursed one sixth of the semester ticket fee for each full month that the ticket could not be used. You must come to the semester ticket office and make an application for this refund.

.

Attention: Anyone who is exempted from the contribution obligation, will not possess a semester ticket. The student ID card will not be marked "VBB Semesterticket" and will not be valid as a travel document.

Those who submit their application for exemption only after the end of the re-registration deadline, usually have to pay the semester ticket first and you may receive the fee back after the approval of your application. Please submit the application at least 3 weeks before the deadline of re-registration date to make sure your application will proceeded in time. Otherwise, we cannot guarantee the application will be done in time.

Antrag auf Befreiung

Kontakt
Semesterticketbüro
c/o AStA TU Berlin
H 2130a-2133
Straße des 17. Juni 135
D-10623 Berlin-Charlottenburg

Webseite: asta.tu-berlin.de/semtix
E-Mail: semesterticket@tu-berlin.de
Telefon: +49 030 314 28038
Fax: +49 030 314 28162

Downloads

Grundsätzlich sind alle Studierenden der UdK Berlin verpflichtet, das Semesterticket zu zahlen. In bestimmten Fällen seid Ihr aber automatisch von der Beitragspflicht ausgenommen. Das regelt dann alles das Immatrikulations- und Prüfungsamt (IPA), ihr braucht euch um nichts weiter kümmern.

Außerdem gibt es Gründe, aufgrund derer Ihr euch auf Antrag befreien lassen könnt. Dazu müsst ihr dann einen Befreiungsantrag ausfüllen und mit den entsprechenden Nachweisen im Semesterticket-Büro abgeben.

Geregelt werden diese Fälle in der Semesterticket-Satzung.

Automatisch werden vom IPA von der Beitragspflicht ausgenommen:

  1. Studierende, die nicht Mitglied der UdK Berlin oder der Studierendenschaft sind (Neben-, Gasthörer).
    Erledigt das IPA automatisch.
  2. Studierende, die auch an einer anderen Hochschule des Landes Berlin oder Brandenburg immatrikuliert sind und dort ihre Beiträge zahlen (Doppelimmatrikulation)
    Erledigt das IPA automatisch.
  3. Schwerbehinderte, die einen Ausweis besitzen, der sie zu kostenloser Beförderung berechtigt
    Erledigt das IPA NICHT automatisch. Ihr müsst einmalig eine Farbkopie des Behindertenausweis im Immatrikulations-Büro abgeben.

Auf Antrag im Semesterticket-Büro werden für ein oder mehrere Semester von der Beitragspflicht befreit:

  1. Kranke oder behinderte Studierende, die deswegen in einem Semester den öffentlichen Nahverkehr nicht nutzen können (Attest notwendig)
  2. Studierende, die sich für mindestens drei zusammenhängende Monate des Semesters aus studienbedingten Gründen außerhalb des Bereichs Berlin ABC aufhalten (zum Beispiel Auslandssemester)
  3. Studierende in Ergänzungs-, Zusatz-, Aufbaustudiengängen, in einem Teilzeitstudium, einem weiterbildenden Studium, weiterbildene Masterstudiengänge, Promotionsstudierende oder weitere Studienmöglichkeiten.
  4. Studierende im Urlaubssemester. Achtung: Wer den Antrag erst nach Semesterbeginn stellt, bekommt bereits angebrochene Monate der Gültigkeitsdauer anteilig nicht mehr erstattet!

Exmatrikulation
Bei Exmatrikulation während des laufenden Semesters wird für jeden vollen Monat, den das Ticket nicht mehr genutzt wird, ein Sechstel des Semesterticketbeitrags erstattet. Diese Rückerstattung regelt das IPA. Entscheidend ist der Zeitpunkt der Rückgabe des Studierendenausweises.

Immatrikulation erst nach Semesterbeginn
Wer erst mehr als einen vollen Monat nach Semesterbeginn immatrikuliert wird, bekommt für jeden vollen Monat, den das Ticket nicht genutzt werden konnte, ein Sechstel des Semesterticketbeitrags erstattet. Für diese Rückerstattung müsst ihr ins Semesterticket-Büro kommen und einen Antrag stellen.

Achtung: Wer sich von der Beitragspflicht befreien lässt, bekommt auch kein Semesterticket! Auf dem Studierendenausweis wird dann nicht der Vermerk „VBB Semesterticket“ angebracht und er gilt dann auch nicht als Fahrausweis.

Wer seinen Antrag auf Befreiung erst nach Ende des Rückmeldeschluss stellt, muss in der Regel den Semesterticketbeitrag erst zahlen und bekommt im Falle der Bewilligung nachträglich den Betrag zurückerstattet. Um sicher zu gehen, dass euer Antrag rechtzeitig bearbeitet wird, reicht diesen bitte mindestens 3 Wochen vor Rückmeldeschluss ein. Andernfalls können wir nicht garantieren, ihn noch rechtzeitig bearbeiten zu können.